A key to confidence

I looked at the photos on my phone, scrolling through each one, and could barely believe my eyes. There in front of me lay proof that my hard work was paying off.

Just a few minutes before, I had stopped a pair of women on a hiking trail near downtown Chattanooga and asked them to do me a favor.

“Could you take a picture of me?” I asked. “I’ve lost about 35 pounds and I haven’t really had a picture taken.”

They took the pictures and I got into my truck and looked at the results. You could tell I lost weight. But, on top of it, you could tell gains in muscle.

13041307_10154173906731340_8576771650015169559_o

There’s still work to be done. But I could see with my own eyes and compare the man I am now to a man a year ago.It’s not only about weight loss. It’s about the demeanor. The guy on the right is confident and sure. He’s standing tall. He looks sure of himself. The guy on the left has a weak smile, his hands in his back pockets because he’s not sure where to put them or how to hide his gut that is sticking out. The guy on the left had no path. Maybe, in a way, that can be seen.

I’ve gained confidence over the last few months by lifting weights, putting together plans and implementing them.

Now I’m seeing results.

The man on the right is only going to get better. Believe me, I know. I am that man.

About rocklion2000

I am a newspaper reporter in Chattanooga, TN. I am also an outdoor enthusiast who loves hiking, backpacking and mountain biking.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

