The best time of my life

I’m a week away from doing a 5K through a bunch of mud. In another month, I’ll be on my way to Manchester, Tenn. to run through fire, mud and water. Just last weekend, I rode 20-miles on a mountain bike up and down mountains. In just three weeks, my family and I will be camping along a pristine lake in the mountains.

I have two adorable children.

There are people who love me and people I love.

So, what ties all these together? There was once a thought in my mind as I turned 30 and kept getting older that I was on the back end of my life. Half my life was over. You turn 30, you’re closer to 60. Turn 35, you’re halfway to 70.

The thought scared me. It seemed life moved too quick suddenly and I found myself in a whirlpool headed down.

But things change and people change. And this is where I am today. I’ve lost 40 pounds and am doing things I haven’t done before or at least in years. I’m enjoying them with the people I love. Lisa will be running with me next week. My kids will get to see mommy and daddy complete their first race. Lisa, Carolina and Kellen will see me finish the Warrior Dash in a month. We’ll all get to sit and relax on the lake and enjoy nature and each other.

This is my life and I love my life.

So, am I on the back end of my life? Not now. Right now, I’m entering the best part of my life as I’ve known it.

About rocklion2000

I am a newspaper reporter in Chattanooga, TN. I am also an outdoor enthusiast who loves hiking, backpacking and mountain biking.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

