It’s hot outside, what to do now?

I stepped outside today after work and it hit me smack in the face. And the arms. The legs. Every part of my body.

It is suddenly scorching hot. And not just hot, but humid and it drenches you in sweat in a matter of minutes. I discovered that tonight as I rode my bicycle around the neighborhood practicing coming in and out of my clipless pedals and doing trackstands.

Within 10 minutes, I found myself drenched and had to take a shower.

In this heat, the outdoors is unbearable. It makes you want to crawl inside in the air conditioning and do your exercise on the treadmill.

But I have discovered an alternative.

Run at night.

Oh, yeah, I could go down to the local park with the lamps and run. But I don’t know, I hear stories about the creeps hiding out there. Something may happen to me.

I hear you. I wouldn’t want to go to some creepy park in the middle of the night either. But I am different. I’m of a different breed. I’m not suggesting this to anyone. But I’ve figured out one thing I’m going to do this week. I don’t know when, but I will do it. I’ve got a headlamp in my drawer for hiking. I’ve got my trail shoes. And I’ve got a little bit of crazy.

I’m going to go down to the woods and run through them in the dark. I’m going to beat the heat and I’m going to experience something different that not a lot of people can say they have experienced. I’ve hiked through the woods at night. I can run in them.

I’ll be careful. I don’t want to sprain an ankle or tear a ligament half a mile out in the woods. But I want to feel a certain kind of rush doing it. Right now the sun is going down at my house. I hear the hum of the cicadas and tree frogs outside.

I can’t wait.

 

 

 

 

About rocklion2000

I am a newspaper reporter in Chattanooga, TN. I am also an outdoor enthusiast who loves hiking, backpacking and mountain biking.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

