It’s okay… We’ve been here before…

I gained 2.5 pounds this week. After weeks of losing consistently, I woke up this morning and saw the scale had went the other way.

But it’s okay. I’ve been here before. Just a month ago after Memorial Day I stepped on the scale and saw some weight gain. The next few weeks I lost 10 pounds.

The fact is, weight loss and maintaining weight is a marathon, not a sprint. That’s my motto and I’ve said that over and over again. I’m not trying to lose weight as fast as possible. I’m trying to make sure once I get it off it never comes back.

Going from 184 to 186 doesn’t make me fat. It doesn’t mean I’ve jumped off the wagon and am now doing the things I used to do like sneak McDonald’s cheeseburgers when I was hungry.

The only thing it means is that I enjoyed my week-long vacation, took some time off for a little bit from tracking calories and workouts and just took some time off from the whole thing.

Only once during the week did I eat “bad.” But I did learn some lessons from what I did do. I exercised a lot this week. I went mountain biking almost everyday and burned calories. But I also put some bad foods in the system, didn’t eat breakfast a few times, left out some snacks and then drank some of my calories in beer during the week.

The lesson to be learned is that just because you workout a lot it does not equal, “I can eat whatever I want.”

I gained 2 pounds. But I also gained some memories this week. The pounds don’t matter when I look back on my vacation week and see the accomplishments I did make. I made my first long bike climb, I rode a trail I always had problems with for the first time with no problems and, most importantly, I enjoyed some time with my family.

By my next vacation, I plan to be 15 pounds lighter. I may gain two pounds on that vacation.

But it will be okay. Because I’d still 50 pounds lighter than I was before, just like I’m still 35 pounds lighter today than what I was before.

It can be slow, but I’ll win the race.

I’m now on the 18th mile of the marathon and had to stop for a water break.

About rocklion2000

I am a newspaper reporter in Chattanooga, TN. I am also an outdoor enthusiast who loves hiking, backpacking and mountain biking.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to It’s okay… We’ve been here before…

  1. Jennifer says:

    This is great!!

Leave a Reply

