Moderation, well kind of…

Right now, I’m sitting here drinking a beer. Not even a light beer. A New Belgium beer full of flavor and chock full of about 145 calories of goodness.

Oh no, you may say. Don’t drink your calories. You won’t lose anything when you have a beer gut. But there is also something else to it. I have enough calories from my day and in my pocket to drink this beer. Maybe instead of the beer I could have had a milkshake. Would have had enough for that too, if I wanted.

But I chose the beer. It’s always nice to have one after a good hard ride. And the key is moderation. Yep, I said it. Moderation. I’m not going to have a six pack. Not going to drink until I pass out cold on the floor. Just going to sit here and drink my beer and enjoy it.

You see, today I went out on a mountain bike ride. I rode hard, hitting the trail like I’ve never hit that trail before. I got 45 minutes into my ride then Boom! chain busted and I was doing walkabike back to my car. I hit the road at one point and was able to glide on some downhills back to the main road. Luckily, I found someone willing to take me back to my car. The ride and the walk burned about 700 calories. I came home, had a very nice dinner my wife, Lisa, cooked. And it was healthy. A turkey burger, some sweet potato fries and some zucchini and squash.

But here’s where moderation goes out the window. Notice something in my sentence about what we ate. Burger, fries and vegetables. The standard fair is burger and fries. Guess what? That went out the window. The fries we had were about half a serving. But the zucchini and squash was plentiful. I have enough to take to work tomorrow. The fries were about 60 calories for the 11 pieces I ate. The veggies were about 30, if that much.

That’s where for me moderation went out the window. I could have pigged out on those veggies and still ended up with the same amount of calories as those measly plate of fries I had. And you know what? The veggies tasted a lot better than the fries, the way Lisa cooked them.

Some things you moderate. Others you don’t. I haven’t heard many stories from people saying, “Hey, I’m overweight because I ate a can of peas and green beans a day.” You find that person, please let me know.

I had a little revelation today. I was sitting at work and then it occurred to me it was time for my afternoon snack. I went and got a peach out of my bag and sat at my desk and ate it. The whole time I sat there thinking, “Wow, this peach is delicious.”

It was. It tasted better than the Little Debbie cakes usually sold for 20 cents in the back. It tasted better than the chips sold out of the snack machine. I watched what I ate today. I got in a good ride with a lot of exercise, and at the end of the day I had more than 1,000 calories left if I want to lose weight. The two beers I drank equal about 290 calories. I still have about 700 calories left in my diet.

I can afford to drink a couple of beers. And I’m going to.

Now, I’m going to get back to rewarding myself.

About rocklion2000

I am a newspaper reporter in Chattanooga, TN. I am also an outdoor enthusiast who loves hiking, backpacking and mountain biking.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

