Losing weight – Diet

I’ve been asked to give some indication of what I eat and my diet. First off, I don’t see it as a diet. It’s a change in how I view food and also a change in what I eat. I don’t eat less than I did before losing weight. I eat more. And the largest factor is that everything I do works in combination with each other. It’s just not diet. It’s also about exercise.

Backing up a bit, I’ll talk about what I used to eat. I used to be the guy who went to McDonalds and got the Double Quarter Pounder with cheese. I use to be the guy who would walk into the steakhouse and get the steak you get for free if you can eat the whole thing. The fact is, it was like a badge of honor in a sense. It was big, and I wanted to be the big and bad guy. But a few months ago, I changed my diet. The result? I’m losing weight, feeling better and I think the food is actually better than before.

Now what do I eat? Well that depends. It depends upon what I do that day for exercise or what I am doing that day. You see, that’s where the combo with the exercise comes in. Food is no longer something I crave. Food is fuel. It’s that simple. So, on a heavy workout day or a day where I’m doing some hard working out, I try to eat a protein rich diet that helps build muscle and also helps alleviate muscle fatigue. I eat about five meals a day. That’s to keep the metabolism rocking over the course of the day.

Morning – I’ll have some coffee and creamer. Most of the time I eat some Special K cereal or Kashi cereal with 1 percent milk. Other times, I may eat a couple of eggs with some wheat toast. The eggs are good for a workout day when protein is needed.

Snacks – Have a snack around 10 a.m. and 4 p.m. everyday. The morning snack is usually some nuts. Almonds, mixed nuts or a few other combinations. Once again, getting protein in the system. It’s filling and has good fat. All fat is not bad.Afternoon, it’s a banana or an apple or an orange or a cup of yogurt.

Lunch – Usually eat a sandwich with lean meat. Chicken, turkey or ham. Once again protein for getting filled and helping with muscle. I also load up the sandwich with veggies. Lettuce, mustard, pickles, onion. Stack it full of veggies. It becomes filling. Also, I’ll eat some greek yogurt and usually some fruit. Apple, banana, or bring a baggie of watermelon, cantaloupe or pineapple. There’s a lot of good fruits out there. Sometimes I’ll also replace the yogurt with vegetables. I like buying Margaret Holmes stuff. Got some good old fashinioned southern veggies like squash and okra or collard greens.

Dinner – This is the most complicated because it changes so much. Lisa is also becoming a trooper on this. The most important thing is not eating as much, if you get seconds, just get a small plate, not loading it up. I eat smaller portions of meat and try to load up on veggies to fill me up.

Some other things. I drink lots of water. That will help you lose more than you know. Second, I have a cheat day once a week where I eat some pizza, hamburger, whatever. It won’t kill you once a week and it keeps you sane.

I’m going to come back tonight and talk more about exercise. But this is pretty much my diet. But I will need to talk about exercise. They work hand in hand.

About rocklion2000

I am a newspaper reporter in Chattanooga, TN. I am also an outdoor enthusiast who loves hiking, backpacking and mountain biking.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

